
I have recently received several calls and e-mails regarding Golf carts and Low Speed Vehicles on the 
streets of Miami Springs.  In order to clarify and answer many questions about their use or operation I 
have provided the Florida State Statutes regarding the definitions and operations of Golf Carts and Low 
speed vehicles. 
 
Florida State Statute 320.01, 
Definitions General. 
 
(22) GOLF CART means a motor vehicle that is designed and manufactured for operation on a golf 
course for sporting or recreational purposes and that is not capable of exceeding speeds of 20 miles per 
hour. 
 
(41) LOW SPEED VEHICLE means any four wheeled vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per 
hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour, including but not limited to, neighborhood electric vehicles.  
Low speed vehicles must comply with the safety standards as outlined in Florida State Statute 316.2122. 
 
Florida State Statute 316.2122, 
Operation of a low speed vehicle or mini truck on certain roadways. 
 
The operation of low speed vehicles as defined in s. 320.01 or a mini truck as defined in s. 320.01 on any 
road is authorized with the following restrictions: 

(1) A low speed vehicle or min truck may be operated only on streets where the posted speed limit 
is 35 miles per hour or less.  This does not prohibit a low speed vehicle or mini truck from 
crossing a road or street at an intersection where the road or street has a posted speed limit of 
more than 35 miles per hour. 

(2) A low speed vehicle must be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, tail 
lamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts and vehicle 
identification numbers. 

(3) A low speed vehicle or mini truck must be registered and insured in accordance with s. 320.02 
and titled pursuant to chapter 319. 

(4) Any person operating a low speed vehicle or mini truck must have in his or her possession a 
valid driver license. 

(5) A county or municipality may prohibit the operation of low speed vehicles or min trucks on any 
road under its jurisdiction if the governing body of the county or municipality determines that 
such prohibition is necessary in the interest of safety 

(6) The Department of Transportation may prohibit the operation of low speed vehicles or mini 
trucks on any road under its jurisdiction if it determines that such prohibition is necessary in the 
interest of safety. 

 
Any and all persons operating a low speed vehicle within the jurisdiction of Miami Springs must abide by 
all of the provisions of Florida State Statute 316.2122 as stated above.  Additionally, they must abide by 
all applicable State Traffic Laws.  Any violation of State Traffic Laws and the operator will be subject to 
all Criminal, Moving and Non-moving, traffic enforcement in the same manner as if operating a motor 
vehicle.   
 
If anyone has any questions, please feel free to contact the Miami Springs Police Department 
Community Policing Office at 305-888-5286. 
 



Let’s enjoy a safe and happy summer vacation. 
 
Armando Guzman 
Chief of Police 
Miami Springs Police Department 
 
 


